The following information describes how Viking Line uses so-called cookies and similar technologies on Viking Line’s websites and in the Viking Line app. This includes instructions for how you can block or delete cookies.
A cookie is a small text file. When you visit a website, the website requests to have the cookie saved on your computer. Cookies are used by many websites to give visitors access to various functions and features. The information in some cookies is used to track a user’s internet browsing. As a result, cookies are used to ensure that websites work as they should and can be more efficient, and to give certain information to the website provider.
There are several types of cookies. Some cookies will be saved as a file on your computer for a longer period (so-called permanent cookies). These permanent cookies enable certain features, for example showing users content that has been updated since their previous visit to the website. Other cookies are saved temporarily in your computer’s memory while you are surfing a website, for example to keep track of the language you have chosen (so-called session cookies). These cookies disappear when you close your web browser.
Viking Line uses session cookies on its websites, for example to determine the language that you have selected. These cookies are saved only as long as your web browser is open; they are deleted when you close the browser.
Viking Line also saves other information in cookies. For example, we save a random value that we use to fetch your settings (e.g. automatic login, sorting in lists) in a database. The length of time that the cookie is saved depends on the specific cookie’s lifetime and the settings in your browser.
Third-party cookies belong to domains other than those which you are visiting, and allow viewing of a user’s web history. This means that some cookies can be read by other web pages, for example to provide statistics on how visitors find their way to different websites.
If you decide to block Viking Line’s cookies, doing so may limit the website’s functionality.
Your selected settings for language, birth date, region, Viking Club membership etc. are saved in part in your device’s memory and in part on a server supplied by Viking Line. Viking Line also collects information about your mobile device type and its device ID. Your user profile, including your nickname, gender and image, is saved both locally on your device and on the server.
Information we save on the server is deleted after 42 hours.